It’s not unusual for vCenter administrators to retire a vCenter
rather than upgrade it. When doing so, the typical action is to stand up
the new vCenter and move the hosts between them. However, doing so can
cause issues with vCommander’s discovery of the identity of VMs if not
Important: An ESX host should not exist in multiple vCenters that are being managed by vCommander at the same time.
When going through this kind of exercise, you can either:
- remove the ESX host from one vCenter and then add it to the other. This is the correct option if you require both vCenters to be managed by vCommander simultaneously.
- remove the vCenter you are retiring from vCommander before
connecting to the new vCenter with vCommander. This is the correct
option if you require the hosts to exist for both vCenters
When you remove a managed system, you are not deleting files or records of any VMs, hosts, datacenters, clusters or resource pools. However the following are deleted and are not automatically restored when the managed system or its replacement is added back into vCommander:
Policies Targeting the Managed System
Choose a new temporary targets for the policies, and disable the policy prior to removing the managed system. Once the change to managed systems is complete, synchronize inventory and choose new permanent targets.
Deployment Destinations Targeting the Managed System
You will have to recreate any deployment destinations.
You will have to recreate this configuration as it applies to the managed system.
Guest OS Scan Configurations for VMs on the Managed System
You will have to update or recreate on the new managed system.
Location Filters in Report Templates
If you have saved report templates with a filter targeting a managed system and that managed system is removed, the filter will be set to “Unknown”
Network Fencing Address Reservation
Network fencing addresses will be maintained, but IP addresses assigned via IP pools show as unassigned in the pool. To resolve, you must manually mark each IP used by the fences as Assigned in the IP pool.
The following are preserved when you remove a managed system:
Before removing a managed system, disabled any scheduled tasks that target it.
Before removing a managed system, edit or delete any saved searches that target it.
Service Catalog Entries
Before removing a managed system, edit or delete any Service Catalog entries that include components from the managed system.
The identity of VMs will be maintained providing the datastore and config files are unchanged.
Ownership and attributes will persist providing the VM fingerprint is intact.